Suffolk County Math Teacher's Assn.

Top Divider


Outstanding Tchr & Jr

                          ANNOUNCING THE SCMTA 
                            CRITERIA: see below 


The deadline for mailing applications is in March 27, 2017. 

We hope you nominate at least one teacher and no more than one junior since
all schools have great people on their staff and in their classrooms.  

For an application, click on "Tchr & Jr.o the Yr Appli" above. 

                       MATHEMATICS TEACHER OF THE YEAR

Some of the qualities on which "Outstanding Teacher" candidates are 
     Knowledge of Subject Matter 
     Relationship with Students and Colleagues
     Outside Activities 
     What makes this teacher unique?
     Additional information (honors, publications, etc.)

  2016 winner -   

  2015 winner -                no applicants 

  2014 winner -      William Miller of Sachem HS North
  2013 winner -      Thomas Bennett of Harborfields H.S. 

  2012 winner -         Barbara Gerson of Commack H.S
                   Donna McGinn or Northport Middle School
  2011 winner -                no applicants 
  2010 winner -        Paul Romanelli from Oldfield M.S. 

  2009 winner -        Paul Price from Southampton H.S.
  2008 winner -      Joan Phillips from Walt Whitman H.S.

  2007 winner -      Melissa Kennedy from West Islip H.S.

  2006 winner -    Madalyne Menzies from Ward Melville H.S.
  2005 winner -        Ronald White from Sachem H.S. 

  2004 winners -     Phillip Weaver of Sachem North H.S.
            Jane Martinsen of Ralph G. Reed M.S. in Central Islip


                             OUTSTANDING JUNIOR

"Outstanding Junior" candidates are judged on:
    Math level
    Participation and placement in competitions such as Mathletes, 
       Mathcounts, SCMTA Contest, NYSML/ARML, Math Fair, etc.
    Other math-related activities
    Distinctions and achievements

   2016 winner - 

   2015 winner -       Mehtaab Sawhney from Commack H.S.

   2014 winner -         Scott Massa from Commack H.S. 
   2013 winner -        William Meehan of East Islip H.S.

   2012 winner -       Mayuri Sridhar from Kings Park H.S.
   2011 winner -      Matthew Dannenberg from Northport H.S.

   2010 winner -          Matthew Kim from Commack H.S.

   2009 winner -       David Lawrence from Comsewogue H.S.

   2008 winner -          Jason Gross from Commack H.S.

   2007 winner -        Hamsa Sridhar from Kings Park H.S. 

   2006 winner -  Zachary Stolzenberg from Half Hollow Hills East

   2005 winner -      Will Throwe from Shoreham/Wading River

   2004 winner -            Tina Ho of Smithtown H.S.


Bottom Divider

Last Modified: Wednesday, September 28, 2016
©2017 TeacherWeb, Inc.